• Categories

  • Archive of Posts

Cisco Tuning Adapter Firmware Updated

Sometime in the last 24 hours my Cisco STA1520 Tuning Adapter was updated to the latest firmware. We knew the firmware existed and was out in the wild thanks to Ben Drawbaugh over at Engadget HD but there was no specific release date. Well I finally got my update. For those that do not know I live near Charlotte, NC and I have Time Warner Cable.

It definitely was not an elegant notification on the update though. I read that Ceton had updated the InfiniTV-4 firmware and drivers so I did the update. Everything seemed to be working fine until I woke up this morning. I had an SDV issue with one of my recordings. I checked the Ceton diagnostic web page for my tuners and saw that my tuning adapters were not working properly. I then checked the firmware of the SDV adapters through the CETON diagnostic screens and sure enough the tuning adapters had been updated.

12 Responses

  1. Did you not get the F.1402 update so you only needed a single TA for your four tuners? The F.1501 update corrects a problem that we were having where the TAs would reboot seemingly at random.

    Since moving to the F.1501 (I was a beta tester for TWC) I haven’t experienced any restarts or other problems. Make sure you have the latest driver from Ceton (it adds some better diagnostics as well) and they the latest FW and HW (FW 1.0.9.5 and HW 4884)

  2. I need to get back on this. We had a TA-related failure of recordings on Sunday and Monday, so I rebooted. Definitely time to whip out the keyboard and mouse and do some updating! I’ll also be GLAD to remove one of those TAs from my closet!

  3. I did get the F.1402 but I have not checked to see if I have the F.1501. This post was actually written awhile ago and was sitting on my iPad. Trying to get back to the blog.

  4. Is there a way to download and manually update to the F.1501 firmware? I have cox out of Phoenix and cannot watch any SDV channel even after rebooting for more than 15 minutes. I get the service is unavailable error no more than 15 minutes of watching it. I am currently running F.1402

    • I’m also in Phoenix with same setup. My tuning adapter is exhibiting the same behavior. Were you able to find a TA with firmware 1501? Hoping I might be able to swap mine at the Cox store.

  5. Sorry for the late reply Jason. No there is no way to manually download the update. It has to be pushed to you by Cox. You could call and ask for a new tuning adapter that has the update firmware already. I may take some time on the phone but you should get it.

  6. Andres, I’m in Charlotte too and I’m considering moving away from getting my HD OTA to using a Ceton tuner with TWC (I have RR now, but no cable service). I remember using the original ATI CableCard tuners (from the days when you couldn’t get them unless you bought them with a CableLabs certified PC) but they were never reliable, didn’t seem to work at all with M cards, and getting TA’s from TWC took an act of Congress, so I’m wary. Are things better now? Do the tuners and TA’s seem stable? I really want something that, at least for the most part, “just works”

  7. Adam, Sorry for the late reply. You are in for some good news. The Ceton tuner works great! The frustration that was the ATI tuners are a thing of the past. I built a dedicated HTPC with the CETON tuner and it has been running great with pretty much zero issues. I have definitely had less to write about because it just works. Feel free to email me if you want to talk more.

    Also the Ceton tuner just dropped another $100 to $200. Great time to get in.

    • Andres, that’s great to hear! Do you still need two TA’s from TW in order to use all four tuners, or will one do the trick?

      • No. One Tuning Adapter will handle 4 streams now.

      • Thanks for your help, Andres! While the first Ceton that was shipped to me was unfortunately defective, the replacement worked great. Much easier than the last time I tried CableCARD with those ATI tuners!

  8. This particular posting, “Cisco Tuning Adapter Firmware
    Updated My Network Project” ended up being perfect.
    I’m producing out a duplicate to present to my colleagues.
    Thanks for your effort,Georgia

Leave a Reply

