• Categories

  • Archive of Posts

My WHS Nightmare Came True

It’s now good news / bad news with the home server.  Good news is that its back alive and running better than ever with the new system drive.  Bad news is that it came back with all the drives wiped clean.

I chose to do a “System Recovery” instead of a “factory reset” because it was supposed to preserve your data.  Well there was issues getting it to work properly at first but thanks to help from HP I finally accomplished what should have been a system recovery.  Not sure how or why all the drives were wiped.

All is not lost but it’s going to be a long road back.  I basically have to remove all the drives and one by one attach them to my desktop PC and use a data recovery tool (Recuva) to copy my files locally onto my desktop PC, then add the drive back into the home server pool and then copy the files back.  This could take the better part of of week.

What a nightmare.

9 Responses

  1. Oh! At least the data is still on the drives! I was thinking you’d have to go back through and rip all of those movies and music, etc…. Still a complete pain, though.

    My office got hit by lightning a month ago and I’ve been scrambling to replace fried hardware – basically everything with a NIC or modem onboard got fried, but there was no data loss.

  2. It would have been better if I had just taken the drives out from the beginning and done a factory restore on the new hard drive. Than I could have copied the data instead of having to use the data recovery tool.

    I really need to burn my pictures to DVD. Those were the only files I was worried about. I have all my music on my Zune and I can always re-rip my movies.

    How’s the Ceton tuner? I never heard back on that.

  3. Bummer, dude! I’m always worrying about my hard drives dying! Been thinking about a HP media server, but I guess a drive can fail anywhere anytime. Curious about the Recuva software, does it work like it claims?

  4. Overall the HP MediaSmart Home Server is great. There is a plugin that would have given me more heads up if I had it installed.

    I have definitely learned lessons on what to do if your system drive dies.

  5. Best of luck to you.

    I send all of my pictures and downloaded music to the cloud with KeepVault. CloudBerry has a new Azure based addin which I’m sure you have heard of.

    I’m very happy and find it very trouble free.

  6. I think I may have to do that with pictures. That is the only data that would have truly been a tragedy to lose.

  7. wow.. need to come up with a disaster recovery process myself. I have all of my data on the home server..
    btw, was it western digital that failed you?

  8. No it was the Seagate drive that came with the home server. This restore process could actually be a lot easier than it has been if I had added the new system drive in without the other drives. Then nothing would have been wiped and I could have copied and pasted my way back to full health without the need for the deep-scan/restore with Recuva.

    I ended up buying 2 new drives. 1 new system drive the same size as the last (500BG) and a brand new 2 TB drive. So I am pulling data off the old drive onto my desktop and then copying to the home server. Once I have everything off the drive and back onto the home server and reintroduce the drive back into the home server pool. It will take about a week to get all the way back up and running.

  9. Wouldn’t it be awesome if HP ‘just’ configure this server to have RAID5 capacity at the very least?

Leave a Reply

