• Categories

  • Archive of Posts

What’s Been Going On

Things have been awfully hectic and busy with work and personal things.  I am still here and I am still very much onboard with Media Center.  So here are a few things that I have been working on.

  • Writing an article for Residential Systems Magazine:  This past spring I went to the Electronic Home Expo down in Orlando, Fl.  While I was down there I met Gordon van Zuiden from Cyber Manor.  Cyber Manor is the custom installation company that won Micrsoft’s Media Center installation of the year contest in 2008.  Gordon also writes a regular column for an industry trade magazine titled Residential Systems.  Based on a conversation we had over lunch on what we thought the future of Media Center was he offered to give up his regular monthly column to me to get my two cents published.  It was a very generous offer that I accepted and the article is now being published in the July issue.  Here is the link to the online version and the link to the unedited submitted version.
  • Being a guest on the Media Center Show:  Back in early June Ian Dixon from the Digital Lifestyle put out a call for guests for his weekly podcast The Media Center Show.  I contacted him and we recorded an interview on June 15th for use in a future show.  The show has not been posted yet but when it goes up I will definitely post a link.
  • Building a dedicated HTPC: I have kind of hinted around at it but not really talked to much about it but I have moved away from the Dell XPS 420 that was my original Media Center and built my own dedicated HTPC in an HTPC case.   Over the next few weeks I will be posting details on the build including photos. videos and lessons learned.
  • Starting a second blog:  While it seems like I have been writing less around here I am actually working on a writing schedule to post articles on a regular basis on this blog and restarting my second blog.  I still like writing about the content that I watch on my Media Center but I think those posts are better suited for a different blog.  More on that with an official link as it grows.

Well that’s all for now.  I still believe we have an exciting year ahead for Media Center and that the end of 2010 is going to position Media Center to be a great platform for more people in 2011 and beyond.

One Response

  1. Keep it coming! I still want to hear about your SDV issues.

Leave a Reply

