• Categories

  • Archive of Posts

Xbox 360 Freezing When Using the Network Connection

The Simpsons Special Edition Xbox 360

Doh!  My Xbox hates the internet.

The title pretty much says it all.  I have diagnosed my Xbox 360 freezing problems down to the network connection.  Any activity that uses the network connection will freeze my Xbox.

At first I thought it was Xbox Live activity that was freezing the Xbox since I am always connected to Xbox Live.  I tried going offline and it seemed to be ok.  As soon as I tried Media Center it would freeze.

I tried clearing the hard drive cache based on what I found online and what Xbox Customer support emailed me.  That didn’t work either but the Xbox worked great as long as the Cat5 was not connected.

I then tried removing the hard drive and playing games.  That worked great so I connected the cat 5 and tried to connect to Media Center and it froze again.

So basically the Xbox works great with no Cat5 connected and freezes consistently with Cat5 connected.  If I cannot get on my network and on Xbox Live this thing is basically a paper weight.

There has to be something that can be done.  I am going to test my friends Xbox on the network tonight to see if it is my network or the Xbox.  There has to be something that can be done to fix this that does not involve me spending any money or sending it to Microsoft.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
2 Responses

  1. do you think it could have something to do with your router? Also, have you tried unplugging the HDHomerun and tested working over the Xbox? (I haven't gotten a chance to reinstall Win7) I was having network problems like crazy and took my spare router and swapped the old one out, and some network problems were solved. I can't remember how much air your router and/or the HD Homerun are getting. Mine are on shelves in a louvred door closet, but I still wonder if they are baking and causing some of my problems…

  2. I have tested the xbox without the router and in non-media center scenarios so I am pretty sure its neither one of those. All signs point to the xbox itself.

Leave a Reply

