• Categories

  • Archive of Posts

Movie of the Week: Snatch

Snatch

Image by yonmacklein via Flickr

My Movies Collection Number: 290

IMDB Synopsis: Unscrupulous boxing promoters, violent bookmakers, a Russian gangster, incompetent amateur robbers, and supposedly Jewish jewelers fight to track down a priceless stolen diamond. IMDB Page

Why it’s in my collection: I love Guy Ritchie’s crime movies.  There is something very cool about them to me.  My fascination with these kind of movies stated with Pulp Fiction and has been going strong since.

Thoughts While Watching: This movie has a great opening scene.  It’s very unique and pretty funny too.  It sets the tone for the movie with the quick cuts and in your face soundtrack.

This was the first movie I saw by Guy Ritchie and my first introduction to Jason Statham.  I quickly become fans of both and went looking for Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels.

When I first saw this movie I thought Brad Pitt was a little out of place but I could not have been more wrong.  His performance is awesome and hilarious.  His introduction scene ended with a “holy $hit” moment.

I remember the first time I saw this movie I had to watch closely to keep up with all the characters and the accents.

Why it should be in your collection: This movie is just fun.  The story in the movie comes together nicely in the end and almost begs to be watched again to pick up on all the details, overlapping story lines and character connections and interactions.  Brad Pitt also gives an amazing performance that is unforgettable.

Similar movies from my collection: Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels, RockNRolla, In Bruges, Fight Club, The Usual Suspects

My Movies Collection Rating:  8

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
3 Responses

  1. I like this idea of reviewing ur movies.. not sure if you are really following the random number to select your movies, though. 😀

  2. I promise you it is totally random. The only time I may deviate is if a sequel comes up before the original.

  3. I loved this movie. We saw Lock Stock & Two Smoking Barrels first, and LOVED it. I think I may have expected Snatch to be even way better. It wasn't but Snatch was still great. It took me about 20 minutes to get into the accents.

Leave a Reply

