• Categories

  • Archive of Posts

My Tuning Adapter Got Mad and Left Me

I have had two tuning adapters working perfectly for about a month now and in the past few days one of my tuning adapters decided to call it quits.  I am not sure what is going on since almost all of the appropriate status indicators are correct in the diagnostics screen.  Unfortunately it will still not go through final authorization and become operational.  This is what I see on one of my tuning adapters now:

TA Error

It used to say: Tuning Resolver is operational.  Not sure what happened at all.  The TA is on a splitter with the other adapter and it’s still working fine. 

The TA’s usually either work or do not work so I went to my local Time Warner office and switched it out today to see if I could get one working.  I came home and hooked it up only to see the same result.  I’ll keep working on this as I know that some others are having the same issue.  As soon as I get a repeatable resolution I will post it for everyone.

2 Responses

  1. This is exactly what was happening to me yesterday. I went and got another adapter and was going down the same road when I decided to see if it made a difference if I switched the USB connection. I had been running it to a hub and one of the TAs was fine.

    Once I did, the green light went steady and the status line sent from SI to … validating … authorizing and .. operational..

    Maybe TW has done a firmware update on these and is now activing them when you start them up. Have no idea why the hub was causing a problem, but moving the connection solved it for me.

    John

  2. I just tried different cables and a different USB port and the result is still the same unfortunately.

Leave a Reply

