• Categories

  • Archive of Posts

Seriously Time Warner

Alright this is starting to get ridiculous.  I just go another letter from Time Warner telling me that more channels are moving to SDV delivery.  This latest round of changes starts to cut deep into my lineup.

As of July 28th I will be losing all the channels listed below which includes 9 HD channels and 90% of my premium lineup (in bold).

A&E HD MAV TV HD Smithsonian HD
Food Network HD TBS HD Universal HD
Golf Channel HD HGTV HD Palladia
Nick Toons Fox Movie Channel Fox Reality Channel
Fuse The N IFC
Inspiration WAM! BET on Jazz
@Max More Max 5 Star Max
Action Max W Max Thriller Max
Outer Max TMC Xtra Sundance
HBO 2 HBO Comedy HBO Family
HBO Latino HBO Signature HBO ZONE
Showtime Showcase Showtime Beyond Showtime Extreme
Showtime Family Showtime Next Showtime Too
Showtime Women Encore Encore Action
Encore Love Encore Mystery Encore True Stories/Drama
Encore Westerns Starz Kids& Family Starz Cinema
Starz Comedy Starz Edge Starz In Black
Flix    

So now I am wondering if Time Warner will reduce my HBO fee by 90% since I am only getting 90% of the value.  I may actually make that call.  I don’t want their free box but what I will take is a reduce monthly bill since they are reducing my level of service.  And as a friend of mine pointed out, I think this goes directly against the Telecommunications Act of 1996.

I really hope the rumors of a Tuning Adaptor update for Media Center in the fall is true.  The first channels I lost were disappointing but harder to swallow since I never had them in the first place.  This is now taking away content that I actually watch. 

2 Responses

  1. UHD and maybe TBS for Seinfeld are tough. But don't worry, we should learn about the TA at CEDIA in September and I'd be shocked if you didn't have one working at the end of the year.

  2. I really hope you are right. I want my original setup back (along with the 20 HD channels that I currently do not get)

Leave a Reply

