• Categories

  • Archive of Posts

My Encoding Quest Update 2

I thought I had everything working and sorted out.  The process I had settled on was not as automated as it could be but it was manageable.  Well I have hit a snag and I have absolutely no idea what to do.

The problem is with MKV files for movies that have an aspect ration of 2.35:1.  If the movie is 720p then it most likely has a resolution of 1280×536.  He is a screen shot of “The International”:

International Capture 1 Here is the codec information screen:

International Capture 1 Codec InfoNow for some reason when I use my Mencoder process to convert the file to MPG2 so that I can put it into a DVR-MS container I get a file with the right resolution but incorrect aspect ratio.  The movie looks like this:

International Capture 2 You can visually see that Clive Owen’s head is squeezed up.  On my 16×9 television this movie should still show with black bars at the top and bottom since it has an aspect ratio of 2.35:1.  Instead it now has an aspect ratio of 1.85:1 and fills the screen in this stretched manner.  The codec info in VLC was blank so here it is from VideoReDo:

International Capture 2 Codec Info Everything looks to be in order so I am not sure what is wrong.  Here is the Mencoder command string that was used for the conversion.  If anyone sees anything that might help, PLEASE let me know.

C:\Test\MEncoderTranscoder\mencoder.exe -quiet -oac copy -aid 0 -of mpeg -mpegopts format=dvd -o "C:\Test\The International.360" -lavdopts threads=4 -ovc lavc -vf scale=1280:536,expand=1280:528,harddup -lavcopts vcodec=mpeg2video:vrc_buf_size=1835:vrc_maxrate=9800:vbitrate=8000:keyint=15:aspect=16/9:threads=4 -ofps 24000/1001 -sid 0 "C:\Temp\Complete\Movies\1280×536\The International.mkv"

2 Responses

  1. You say the video is 2.39/1 aspect ratio but in your MEncoder command you have the aspect set to 16/9. Perhaps this is the problem?

  2. I tried to make that change and be specific but it did not work.

Leave a Reply

