• Categories

  • Archive of Posts

Time Warner SDV Update

As part of my recent Windows 7 upgrade I had to set up my guide again.  This afforded me the opportunity to revisit my current state of SDV immersion.

In my area, Time Warner is primarily using SDV (Switched Digital Video) technology to deliver HD channels but its also used for a few SD channels.  I am really not too concerned with the SD channels but I’ll comment on those too.

In my area Time Warner offers 59 HD channels including premiums.  I have listed them in the chart below.  All channels in BOLD ITALICS are delivered via SDV which means that I cannot access those channels via Cable Card and my Media Center.  Premium channels in italics.

UNC HD (PBS)

WTVI HD (PBS)

ABC HD

NBC HD

CBS HD

FOX HD

MyTV HD

CW HD

WAXN 64 HD

ABC Family HD Disney HD Planet Green HD
Animal Planet HD TLC HD Discovery HD
USA HD Bio HD History HD
SciFi HD Lifetime Movie HD Bravo HD
Hallmark Movie HD CNBC HD CNN HD
HGTV HD Food Network HD Speed HD
Fox Sports HD Versus HD National Geo HD
Science Channel HD FX HD Travel HD
Outdoor Channel HD MLB Network HD AMC HD
ESPNEWS HD HD Theater TNT HD
TBS HD A&E HD Palladia
ESPN HD ESPN2 HD Golf Channel HD
Big Ten HD ESPNU HD MGM HD
Universal HD HD Net HDNet Movies
HBO HD HBO West HD Cinemax HD
Cinemax West HD Showtime HD Showtime West HD
Movie Channel HD Starz HD  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
So out of the 59 HD Channels Time Warner offers I am only paying for access to 53 of them.  Thanks to SDV I only have access to 25 out of the 53 (a little over 50%).  So I am eagerly anticipating the tuning adapter so I can get my other 28 HD channels back.  In addition to the HD channels blocked by SDV there are also 15 SD channels that are blocked to me.  Out of those the ones that I actually miss are PBS Kids Sprout, BBC America and TV One.  The other channels I never really watch anyway so no huge loss.
 
Based on this recent audit of my current state of SDV I am really hoping that the rumors of SDV tuner adapter support is forthcoming with Windows 7.  I also hope the satellite supports shows up to so that I have the option of ditching this SDV nightmare for good.
4 Responses

  1. Man that’s pretty crappy of Time Warner. It makes me realize that although I complain about my cable company (Cox Communications), they’re really not all that bad. They haven’t even implemented SDV yet and I still have over 50 HD channels and that includes all the channels I actually watch except for ESPNewsHD.

    It’s too bad you don’t have any other options that you can use with your Media Center.

  2. Do y’all have UVerse there yet? Does it work with CableCard to deliver all available channels?

    From what they said on the Custom Integrator’s Show, it sounds like ATI’s next driver update will support SDV, but they won’t bother releasing it until Windows 7 is out (probably because they just started designing the new driver with the Service Pack in place and didn’t mess with it in Vista).

    Microsoft ought to release Windows 7 on 7/7!

  3. We do have UVerse but unlike FIOS they do not support Cable Card.

Leave a Reply

