• Categories

  • Archive of Posts

Back on Vista MC

Windows Update

I made the move back to Vista and Vista Media Center last night.  I would say it was mostly a success.  There are two things that went wrong but in the long run probably will not be that big of a deal.

The first thing that went wrong was that not all of the recorded TV that I had converted properly.  The majority did but for some reason I had some shows that just would not convert.  The only thing that I can think of is that due to some conflict some of the network shows recorded through cable card instead of QAM and my HDHomerun.  Since I had the channels setup heterogeneously I can’t really tell.

The other issue I ran into which is really strange is that my Windows Update stop working.  It gives me an error saying that Windows Update cannot connect.  My theory with this issue was that I had an update that was downloaded but not installed when I made the backup on my Windows Home Server.  The backups does not take files that are considered temp files so I don’t think the update that was in process backed up and not Windows Update is in a weird state.  Not a huge deal since I can still do updates directly.  Maybe Service Pack 2 will fix this.

Regardless I am siked to have WebGuide back and my Caller ID working.  Also all of my plug-ins are working the way they should.

The one thing that I see right away that I will miss from Windows 7 is the stability it brought to my Cable Card tuners.  The final version of Windows 7 with full WebGuide support won’t get here soon enough for me!

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
One Response

  1. I too just went back to VMC. I was running 7MC and though it was good, and I loved how easy it was to setup QAM tuners, and the guide was way better with color coding and all of that, ultimately not having webguide and commercial skipping is what brought me back to VMC.

Leave a Reply

