• Categories

  • Archive of Posts

Awww sh*t…

Soo, I did about the stupidest thing you can do and I don’t know why I did it.  I installed software that I “found” on the internet without scanning it for viruses first. 

The real stupid part of that is that I did it on my Media Center PC which I normally do not do.  I usually experiment on my laptop since I can easily rebuild it.

I had thought I had cleaned the virus off completely but it looks like I did not.  Last night I did the update and the computer rebooted just fine and was working fine.  Looks like remnants of the virus were still present and now my PC is currently bricked.

I tried the same process I did last time to get it back up and running with no luck.  Unfortunately I did not have time to really try and fix it because I had to come to work.

To really make matters worse this is a HUGE hit on the WAF (Wife Acceptance Factor) since my wife is at home sick and cannot watch TV until I get home to fix things.

Ugggghhh.  What a nightmare.  So my question to other Media Center users is what anti0virus software do you have installed?  Obviously my el cheapo antivirus did not do the trick so I need to get something that works.  I just cross my fingers I can get back online again without a rebuild.

4 Responses

  1. I used Windows Live OneCare on my XPS 420 and I love it. It also makes regular backups of your important files (not complete backups but the main stuff like docs and pics). You can usually get it pretty cheap if you keep an eye out for deals and it can be installed on up to 3 PCs.

  2. Sorry…that should have said “use” not “used” as I do still use it.

  3. Just recently started reading your blog. (today infact 🙂 lol). I realize this is an old post but I use ESET N0D32, its a light program that actively scans everything with minimal cpu usage. I've used it for a few years now, and its only gotten better in my opinion. Its best feature is that it actively scans http, https, etc (you can choose others too) for malicious content and stops the download in its tracks.

    As for cleaning hard drives from nasty viruses, I tend to use a low level formatting program (Maxblast works best with zero fill quick and full) since most of the time if a virus messed the drive up, it'll stay in the MBR and wreak havoc again.

  4. Sweet! Thanks for the information. I am going to give it a try.

Leave a Reply

