• Categories

  • Archive of Posts

The computer has officially been ordered

I finally ordered the computer! It is scheduled to ship on February 22 (a week from today). The ATI Digital Tuners as expected are scheduled to ship later. The estimated date given today was March 7 (3 weeks from today). Hopefully my order matches the trends that I have seen online and ships earlier than the estimated date.

As soon as I have a definite ship date for the tuners I will schedule Time Warner and the arrival of my tuner cards.

I called into the Dell sales desk and was able to negotiate an extra $300 off. It doesn’t hurt to ask! I used the savings to buy an extra 750GB hard drive from NewEgg. So my total storage in the PC will be 1.2TB. When I add the Windows Home Server I will have PLENTY of storage for all my media.

Here are the full specs:

New PC Setup
XPS 420 Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor E6850 (4MB L2 Cache,3.0GHz,1333 FSB)
Operating System Genuine Windows Vista® Home Premium with Digital Cable Support
Memory 4GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 800MHz – 4 DIMMs
Video Cards Radeon ATI HD 2600 XT 256MB
Hard Drive 500GB – 7200RPM, SATA 3.0Gb/s, 16MB Cache
750GB – 7200RPM, SATA 3.0Gb/s, 16MB Cache (from NewEgg)
Bluetooth and Media Reader Dell 19 in 1 Media Reader with Bluetooth
Optical Drive Single Drive: 16X CD/DVD burner (DVD+/-RW) w/double layer write capability
Sound Cards Integrated 7.1 Channel Audio
TV Tuner & Video Accelerator Dual ATITV Wonder™Digital Cable Tuner with Remote
Software Adobe Elements Studio for XPS™ 420

2 Responses

  1. I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.Ruth< HREF="http://systemmemory.info" REL="nofollow">http://systemmemory.info <>

  2. Thanks for the comment. I am working on a few new posts. Once those are complete then I should be back on a more regular schedule.

Leave a Reply

