• Categories

  • Archive of Posts

Moving my Cable Outlet

As part of my Media Center Project I have to get a cable outlet in the same vicinity as my new network outlets. I am not going to run cable across the room. Since I will be using the media center itself to watch TV in the office going forward, I have decided to move the outlet that is in the room rather than add another all together.

So the current plan is to put a blank cover on the current outlet and cover that up. I will then go into the attic and hijack the cable that is going into that room already and redirect it over to the other side of the room.

If I split the wire and leave to active outlets this will cause unnecessary signal degradation since I will not be using that outlet again. I do want to leave myself the option to reactivate the outlet though for when we eventually sell the house.

Leave a Reply

