• Categories

  • Archive of Posts

The Adventure Begins with 1700ft of Cat5

So today I began my great home network adventure. I will post more details of my master plan in a later post, but for now I want to talk about the deal I just got.

My first step in this endeavor is to wire my home. I already have wireless but that’s not going to allow me to send around HD video lag free. So I went to NewEgg and priced out cable. I found out that they sell long cables in the following increments: 50ft, 75ft, 100ft, 250ft, 1000ft. I found some great deals on 250ft of cable so I went about estimating how much I need to run wire to all the bedrooms in my house. Turns out that I need about 350-400 feet.

Based on my estimation that puts me in the market for either two 250ft cables or one 1000ft cable. The 1000ft is a little overkill and also more expensive. Instead of $30-$40 I was now looking at around $75, but it’s cheaper to get the 1000 ft than to get two 250 feet cables.

Well, turns out I went another way. A coworker overheard my dilemma and suggested Craigslist. Thanks to that suggested I was able to buy 1700 feet of Cat5 for $50. It actually came from a professional networking company that was running wire in some new condo building that has about 300 units. Check out the photo below:


So now it’s sitting in the back of my car waiting to take up residence in my garage until I can start running it around the house. This is WAY more than I will need, but man was the price right. I’m sure I will be helping many of my friends with network cable whenever they need it.

3 Responses

  1. I am thinking of going down the route of wiring everything since the MOCA seems to have not worked so far. I liked your idea of Craigs list and am looking around. I can find some good deals on Cat5 cable (500 feet for about 20$). I also see 1000 ft of Cat 5E cable for 80$ or 500 feet of Cat 6 cable for 75$. Is Cat 5E or Cat 6worth going for the extra money since it supports or is certified for Gigabit speeds? I am planning on using external help in order to run these. Should I go ahead and get the more expensive one since I may or may not be able to go back and change them later on?

  2. Pradeep,

    I have not had any issues with Cat5e. I have been using it for over a year now with no network issues. I do not have any Gigabit devices on my network either. I think you will be fine.

  3. I am sorry. I thought you had used Cat5 and not Cat 5e. I just wanted to make sure just in case we decide to start streaming blue ray streams or something like that in the future. But if you are using cat 5e, then I will go for at least a cat 5e

Leave a Reply

